Two nights at the Olympic Stadium for Metallica in August 2023

New album, new single, new tour for Metallica. The many fans of the legendary metal band will be delighted to learn that the American quartet will launch its 12e album, titled 72 Seasonsa disc supported by a world tour that will stop in Montreal on August 11 and 13.

It will be one of the 22 cities visited by the group for this tour which will begin on April 27 in Amsterdam and end on September 29, 2024 in Mexico City. The group will play two shows in each city on a circular stage, each evening with a different program and each time with the support of the different groups in the first part. Montreal will thus be the fifth metropolis visited by James Hetfield and his band; Pantera and Mammoth WVH will warm up the Olympic Stadium crowd on August 11 while the job will be taken on by Five Finger Death Punch and Ice Nine Kills on August 13. Edmonton will be the only other Canadian city Metallica will visit on August 23 and 25, 2024. Tickets for the Montreal concerts go on sale this Friday.

Until then and until the release of the new album on April 14, the group released this Monday a first extract, Lux Aeternainitial boost to a 12-song collection that will result in 77 minutes of new music, six years later Hardwired… To Self Destruct. The album is produced by vocalist and rhythm guitarist James Hetfield, fellow drummer Lars Ulrich as well as Greg Fidelman, who first worked with the band on Death Magneticin 2008.

On the group’s website, James Hetfield explained the meaning of the title of the new album: “72 seasons. The first 18 years of our life that form our real or our false personalities. The concept that our parents told us “who we are”. A possible categorization around the kind of personality we have. I think the most interesting part of it all is the continued study of these core beliefs and how they affect our perception of the world today. Much of our adult experience is a reenactment or reaction to these childhood experiences. Prisoners of childhood or breaking from these chains that we carry. »

Here are the titles of the songs that we will find on 72 Seasonswhose pre-sale begins this Wednesday

  • 72 Seasons
  • Shadows Follow
  • ScreamingSuicide
  • Sleepwalk My Life Away
  • You Must Burn!
  • Lux Aeterna
  • Crown of Barbed Wire
  • chasing light
  • If Darkness Had a Son
  • Too Far Gone?
  • Room of Mirrors
  • Inamorata

source site-60