Ozzy Osbourne, Mariah Carey and Cher are candidates for the rock’n’roll pantheon

Mary J. Blige, Mariah Carey, Cher, Lenny Kravitz, the late Sinéad O’Connor and heavy metal’s “Prince of Darkness” are among the candidates for induction into the rock’n’roll pantheon in 2024.

The list of candidates embraces a vast musical panorama which also includes the pop-soul of Sade and the alternative rock of the British group Oasis.

Ozzy Osbourne, who shocked many parents in the 1980s with his devilish imagery and heavy metal-leaning music, is cited as a solo artist, having already entered the Hall of Fame with Black Sabbath. Nominations also include hip-hop duo Eric B. &Rakim, soft-rock group Foreigner, singer-guitarist Peter Frampton, alternative rock groups Jane’s Addiction and Dave Matthews Band, and the legendary Kool&the Gang.

“Continuing in the true spirit of rock ‘n’ roll, these artists created their own sounds that have left their mark on generations and influenced countless others who have followed in their footsteps,” said John Sykes, president of the Rock&Roll Hall Foundation. of Fame, in a press release.

Ten of the 15 candidates are on the ballot for the first time, including Carey, Cher, Foreigner, Frampton, Kool&the Gang, Kravitz, Oasis, O’Connor, Osbourne and Sade. Sade, whose tender 1980s rock hits include Smooth Operator And The Sweetest Taboois going through a happy period, after being inducted last year into the pantheon of songwriters.

Carey, who has 19 number-one hits, Blige, who has eight multiplatinum albums and nine Grammy Awards, and Cher — the only artist to have a number-one song in each of the last six decades — would help increase the number of women at the Pantheon.

Artists must have released their first commercial recording at least 25 years before they can be inducted. The induction ceremony will take place in Cleveland this fall.

The candidates will be elected by more than 1000 artists, historians and professionals from the music sector. Music fans can vote online or in person at the museum, with the top five artists chosen by the public constituting a “fan ballot” that will be counted along with the other professional ballots.

Last year, Missy Elliott, Willie Nelson, Sheryl Crow, Chaka Khan, “Soul Train” creator Don Cornelius, Kate Bush and the late George Michael were among the artists who were inducted into the Hall of Fame.

To watch on video

source site-39