Max Verstappen wins sprint race in Miami ahead of Charles Leclerc

The three-time Dutch world champion retained, on Saturday, his first place acquired during the qualifications of the exercise the day before.

France Télévisions – Sports Editorial


Reading time: 1 min

Max Verstappen leads the sprint race at the Miami Grand Prix ahead of Charles Leclerc and Sergio Pérez, May 4, 2024. (RUDY CAREZZEVOLI / AFP)

He is clearly not disturbed by the news surrounding his stable. Red Bull driver Max Verstappen won the second sprint race of the season in Miami on Saturday May 4. Starting in the lead after setting the best qualifying time on Friday, the Dutchman did not relinquish his position over the day’s 19 laps.

Once the initial yellow flag – for a collision which sent Lando Norris (McLarren) and Lance Stroll (Aston Martin) to the carpet after only one corner – had passed, the championship leader definitely took off. Although he complained about the lack of grip on his machine, he finished the race more than two seconds ahead of Charles Leclerc (Ferrari) and his teammate Sergio Pérez. Note the good performance of the Australian Daniel Ricciardo (Racing Bull), who retained his fourth place ahead of Carlos Sainz (Ferrari).

Still no points for Alpine

After doing better in Shanghai two weeks ago, the French team from Alpine did not manage to continue their momentum this Saturday to get into the points. Before even finding his place on the grid for the start, Esteban Ocon was penalized ten seconds for having collided with Charles Leclerc’s car in the pit lane,nihilating every chance (15th at the finish).

For his part, Pierre Gasly knew he would have a complicated race, his car having started with a gearbox synchronization problem. His only opportunity to climb into the top 8 was gone when his former teammate Yuki Tsunoda (Racing Bull) attacked to grab the last point-offering spot.

With the penalties from Lewis Hamilton and Kevin Magnussen, the Frenchman finished 9th under the eyes of Zinédine Zidane, Alpine ambassador, who came to present the trophies to the first three. The best place for a French single-seater since the start of the season.

source site-16